Education Scrutiny Committee

Meeting to be held on 17 June 2014

Electoral Division affected: None

Membership, Terms of Reference and Programme of Meetings (Appendix A refers)

Contact for further information: Janet Mulligan, Office of the Chief Executive, 01772 533651, janet.mulligan@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary

This report sets out the membership, terms of reference and programme of meetings for the Education Scrutiny Committee.

Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note:

- i. The membership of the Committee following the County Council's Annual Meeting on 15 May 2014.
- ii. The Terms of Reference of the Committee
- iii. The agreed Programme of Meetings for 2014/15

Background and Advice

The Full Council at its Annual Meeting on 15 May 2014 appointed County Councillor Cynthia Dereli as Chair of the Committee and the County Councillor Susie Charles as Deputy Chair of the Committee for the 2014/15 municipal year.

The Full Council also agreed that the Committee shall comprise 13 County Councillors (on the basis of 6 Labour members, 1 Liberal Democrat member, 5 Conservative members and 1Independent member). Nominations of County Councillors to serve on the Committee have been submitted to the County Secretary and Solicitor by the respective political groups.

The County Councillors (13) appointed to serve on the committee for the following year are:

P Buckley Dr M Hassan
Mrs S Charles C Henig
A Cheetham K Iddon
C Crompton D Lord
B Dawson B Murray
C Dereli S Perkins

M Perks



The following co-opted members will continue to serve on the Committee:

Voting Co-opted Members (5)

Miss T Jones – Representing RC Schools
Mr F Kershaw - Representing CE Schools
Mr K Wales - Representing Free Church Schools
Mrs J Hamid - Representing Parent Governors (Secondary)
Mr J Withington - Representing Parent Governors (Primary)

A copy of the Committee's Terms of Reference is attached at Appendix A.

At the meeting on the 13 December 2013 the full Council agreed the following programme of meetings for the Committee in 2014/15.

15 July 2014 21 October 2014 24 March 2015

Meetings will be held at 10.00 am in Cabinet Room 'C' at County Hall, Preston.

Consultations

N/A

Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

Risk management

There are no significant risks associated with this item.

<u>Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985</u> <u>List of Background Papers</u>

Paper Date Contact/Directorate/Tel
Agenda/Proceedings from 12 December 2013 and
Full County Council 15 May 2014 Contact/Directorate/Tel
Janet Mulligan, Office of the Chief Executive, 01772
533361

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate N/A